04.01.08 {nifty thrift | vintage apron patterns}

04.01.08 {nifty thrift | 1930s aprons}

Besides the clothes rack, my biggest preoccupation whilst digging through thrift stores is vintage patterns. While yes, part of the motivation is that I do sew, and thus am always on the hunt for some new and “exciting” style to whip up, I do love collecting them for their graphics! (Because honestly–I don’t think I could ever sew all of the patterns–although I’d like to think I could! hehe!)

04.01.08 {nifty thrift | retro '70s patterns}

They’re little time-capsules of previous eras and fashion styles. I love seeing how not only the trends have changed for the home seamstress, but also the sewing techniques!

04.01.08 {nifty thrift | 1940s pinafore apron}

I also feel a slight connection to the ladies who owned these patterns before me. I think the best patterns are the ones that have pin markings, notes, or even just simple circles around the size they needed to cut out! (Something I do!)

04.01.08 {nifty thrift | vintage needlework books}

I also occasionally light upon a “how-to” booklet from the 1950s or 1960s. I love flipping through them for ideas and inspiration! Look at some of these pages:

04.01.08 {nifty thrift | sweater embellishments!}

04.01.08 {nifty thrift | make your own shoes}

See more vintage-pattern goodness here and here!

[ Read the other Nifty-Thrift posts here. ]

Cheers!

[ email me ]

