w.i.p.

Thank you to everyone who purchased one of my Heartstrings prints and offered encouragement after my latest Shoppe update!! I am still blown away by the interest in my artwork and am happily (and busily) packing up orders to head to their new homes!

When I was younger the thing I wanted to be the most was an artist. Like Tasha Tudor illustrating children’s stories, or coming up with pictures of my own characters and critters. I surrounded myself many a day with my watercolor paints, heavy papers and spent hours drawing and coloring. For awhile there was even talk of the “A-word” (Art School), though at the time it wasn’t meant to be, and I was too caught up in the idea of having to “make it big”. It has only been in the recent months that I’ve grabbed onto that dream again, mostly due to the sweet encouragement of my family, boyfriend, and you. No longer are my fears of not being properly taught holding me back, or the specters of Success and Pressure looming over my head. Art is now an outlet for my creative fancies: a way to share my vision of happy things and moments, to hopefully make someone else smile or take a moment to enjoy the little things in life.

I am working on a few new pieces; things that have been cooking in my head for sometime. Reworking of paintings done years ago that I liked the concept of, but not the original execution. I just ordered a set of prints from a new piece–one that I am very excited about. So stay tuned for news of the “Wonderland Balloon” piece debuting in the Shoppe

Oh, and before I get too much older, the Shoppe is in this month’s Poppytalk Handmade Market!! Eeep! I’m so excited! There are so many lovely things and shops featured in January’s marketplace, all under the theme of “Love Transforms”. Go take a peek at the loveliness!.

Have a beautiful, creative Monday! For now I will leave you with a bit of Vintage Monday goodness (remember that?! hehe!):

Cheers & Creativity,
Casey [ email me ]

p.s. I just wanted to encourage you to hop on over to Laura Crow Miller’s shop and purchase one of her donation packages! She is raising money to send care packages to US soldiers stationed overseas, which I think is very important. Let’s not forget those brave people who put their lives in harm’s way to protect us!

