Sorry that this is a wee bit late! Today was a very busy day… I’ll be back tomorrow or Wednesday with some goodies to report about!

vintage monday [ week twelve ] ::
[ click for larger view]

This week’s Vintage Monday feature is from 1871; a page of ladies’ bodices and cloaks, and a young girl’s bustled dress. I particularly love the young lady’s outfit; it reminds me of something Alice might have worn. lol! But what I wanted to point out on this page is the edge details on the pieces pictured. Earlier styles and eras seemed to have had a penchant for decorating the edges of their garments with lace, ruching, ruffles and fringe! Some of them more elaborate than others; the polonaised bodice on the lower left corner has wide lace, and narrow lace, separated by a band of ribbon (I love that look!). I have a bodice from this era with similar trimmings, and it is quite something to look at! How would you incorporate a antique, edging detail into modern wear?

Have a lovely Tuesday (since it is closer than Monday where I am!)!!

Cheers & Creativity,
Casey [ email me ]

