the dress design

(To those who have ever watched Frank Capra’s classic You Can’t Take It with You, you’ll probably recognize the quote that I used for the post title!)

I am in an excessively good frame of mind today. Perhaps it has to do with the fact that I successfully updated the Shoppe yesterday. Or maybe its the general Christmastime cheer that is permeating everything. Could it be the dress that I am working on that is *gasp* working out?! I think the better solution to this little “cheer conundrum” would be the fact that L. called me late yesterday evening. Quite out of the blue, unexpected–we weren’t supposed to be able to talk until near Christmas due to his schedule. But somehow, he managed it, and it totally made my week. So I’ve been going around with a big, goofy grin on my face almost constantly since then.

*ahem* So onto less mushy things! Oh, but speaking of lovey-dovey, gooshy stuff, should I tell you that I’m already scheming and planning for Valentine’s Day Shoppe goodies? Christmas isn’t even here, but I’ve already sketched and inked one little valentine, that is in consideration for being painting and done up as a print, card, or something-or-the-other! Its not quite finished, being in need of something in the center still…

valentine's day planning

On the sewing front, I have been busy!! I cooked up an idea back in October, and tried it then. But there were the inevitable kinks that needed to be worked out–and since I was still feeling under the weather I decided to put the project on the back burner rather than wrestle with it. Recently I came across a lovely, red plaid fabric at JoAnn Fabrics in the clearance section and it seemed perfect for this little dress!! So I started slicing and dicing my bodice sloper yesterday, and this is how far I got:

the beginnings

The lining is currently being prewashed (since I had none on hand and had to make a quick fabric store run after the Post Office trip this morning!), and the straps still haven’t been sewn down. I’m still working on how I want the skirt patterned as well. Do I want it pleated, or gathered? Or do I want a little of both? Right now I’m thinking the latter, with a nice, wide band of the grey flannel at the hem! Oh, and the grey material is just plain grey: I added the swirlies on the bodice inset (it seemed like a good idea!)!! Just a a zig-zag stitch (I don’t have a fancy machine), red thread, and lots of tugging and pulling the fabric about. Hooray for self-made embellishment!

bodice inset

Well, I’m off to do some more sewing. I hope you all are having lovely Fridays! Oh, and I must give you a little sneak peek about what’s coming next week because I’m just too excited! I had intended on uploading the polar bear stuffie pattern and tutorial, but as I was doing that, I ran into a few pattern “hiccups” that need to be ironed out. So instead, I’m doing a tutorial on making a (similar) glittery, pom pom star ornament! Look for it sometime around mid week… I just need a good, sunshiny day to get decent pictures.

Have a wonderful, creative weekend!

Cheers & Creativity,
Casey [ email me ]

p.s. Don’t forget if you’d like to receive a Christmas card from me to drop me an email with your name and mailing information by December 10. And please, don’t be shy!!

