new tote bag!!

Yesterday was really crazy. I basically locked myself in my room for seven hours, taking photographs, finishing up a few things, editing photos, and packaging items. Whew! I’ve still got a few loose ends to tie up, but the craziness is over. Everything will be online tomorrow at 7PM in the Shoppe.

trying to look like a 1950s model...

I wore my favorite find from the rummage sale today: an almost pristine 1960s wool sheath! (Excuse the rather silly pose in the picture; I was trying to look like a 1950s model, but alas, I don’t think it worked! rofl.) It has the neatest cut and construction; a real hallmark of the early 1960s style. The dress looks shapeless on the hanger; almost straight. But the bodice seaming and light gathering at the hips causes it to take a soft-fitting shape when put on. It has a neat cowl neckline too; its a separated piece from the rest of the bodice, and joined so as to form a very definite triangle seam above the bust. The wool makes it really warm too! I wore my refashioned hounds-tooth jacket with it (there was a slight chill in the air this morning), but I took it off once I got to church and stayed quite comfy-warm!

It feels so much later today than it is. I hate these time changes; I always just wish they’d leave the time the same, all year! If nothing else, I hate that now it’ll get dark earlier. Which means I’ve got to remember to get my photography time in before dinnertime! lol.

I went to my favorite thrift store on Friday; I hadn’t been there in ages, and Mom was kind enough to take me. I found a couple of interesting bits and bobs; I picked up a few vintage linens and clothes for chopping up (I’ve become quite a fabric-pirate! lol). But the find of the day was this lovely book of paintings at the Louvre for only $3:

new book find

Yummy!! I just love huge art books, but they’re often so expensive. So I snatch them up second hand whenever I can.

new pin design!

I’ve been taking the day off, although with this time change my day is off and I haven’t gotten as much done as I wanted! But I’ve managed to start working on a tote bag for the Shoppe update (it probably won’t be in the Shoppe tomorrow, but in a later update). I’m also working on some Scottish Terrier pins based on an adorable vintage photo of a little girl and her stuffed Scotty I found in my old photo stash! I love being inspired by the things around me…

Have a lovely, cozy evening!

Cheers & Creativity,
Casey [ email me ]

p.s. Thank you everyone who has supported the Shoppe “half-birthday sale” today! There are still some goodies left; but hurry, things have been flying off the shelves and the sale ends tonight at midnight!

