After days of furious coding, databases crashing (not my fault…), late nights, and trying not to change the design yet again, I have a portfolio website!

04.27.08 { new site | one }

I’m so ecstatic! In the process I also moved my blog, and the new address is: http://blog.caseybrowndesigns.com. As with my last blog-move, I’ll be posting in conjunction with the “old” blog for a week, and then will permanently move to the new home. So please adjust your feeds (sorry about this–I know it’s so annoying!).

04.27.08 { new site | two }

So what do you think? I’ve been attempting to move away from my Elegant Musings moniker for awhile; it’s been an online identity I’ve had since my late teens and doesn’t quite fit anymore. Its a huge leap of faith for me–I’m really nervous people will view my blog/work differently (in a less friendly/approachable way; does that make sense?). But after talking with Kate a few weeks back about establishing an professional presence online, I know that this is the right move. Especially as I’ve been getting more work in the graphic design field and realizing that I really needed a portfolio!

There will be a few changes to the site and blog. Elegant Musings will still be maintained as a place to house my favorite inspiration images. I love sharing those with y’all! The site will probably be restructured later this year to reflect the changes, but will remain at it’s current address.

04.27.08 { new site | three }

Here’s a preview of some of the exciting stuff I’m working on for the new portfolio and revamped blog!

- The blog will be restructured a tiny bit. I still plan on writing about my sewing and other projects, but I also really want to bring in topics like art and design; two things that are near and dear to my heart, yet I have rarely talked about online. I think I feel somewhat shy about thrusting them on my blog readers, since my blogging to this point has been so creativity-centric. Well, I guess it’ll still stay creative–just an expanded definition!

- I’ll also occasionally write about my latest projects/commissions. I realized after I posted Kate’s site that most of you had no idea I do this! hehe. I guess it’s because I have been kind of silent on that aspect, mostly because the freelance work didn’t start coming my way until January. So it’s all still new to me!

- There will be more freebies to download over the course of the summer. I have a lot of desktop backgrounds and other miscellaneous images/resources I’ve created over the years that I’m dying to share with y’all!

I want to thank everyone who has encouraged me (directly or not) during this process! Especially Kate for encouraging me to take the leap into my new identity, and Nubby Twiglet’s sage advice again and again about creating an effective website. And thank you all for following me around the last year as I’ve transitioned and been seeking to find my place in life. It really means a lot to me to have such a wonderful support system. You all are so sweet!

As of tomorrow, I’ll be back to my normal, blogging schedule–sorry about the lack of posts lately! I hope you have had a lovely weekend…

